Forgiveness.

Alexander Pope:

To err is human; to forgive, divine.

This is something that has been difficult for me to do in the past. I have always operated under a “one chance and you’re out” policy with people, and once that chance had been used up, that was it.

However, the rediscovery of my faith has made me come to terms with what these people have done to me, and make a decision on whether I was going to keep nursing a grudge against them or to let it go.

Mark 11:25

And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him, that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses.

It is obvious that, in order for our own sins to be forgiven, we must first forgive those who have sinned against us. How can we open up our own hearts to God if they are still full of distrust and negativity. How can God pour His love into us when we are filled to the brim with hate. To forgive is to empty ones self of the negative feelings that Satan likes to prey upon and to instead be filled with Gods love and grace, that we might lead better lives and be admitted into heaven at the end of it.

I still find it hard to forgive at times, but I feel better when I do, and all the negativity flows away.

Have a blessed day.

Forgiveness.

2 thoughts on “Forgiveness.

  1. I love your idea of a diary of your spiritual life. I love your piece on forgiveness. It must be one of the more difficult things for a Christian to do. I have noticed that there is a big difference between forgiveness and allowing people back into our lives. With the small things, definitely yes; with the criminal, no. That does not mean we don’t forgive, but it means we have to protect our family. Great job.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Lisa. It means a lot that you get some enjoyment out of my posts. I forgive far more than I let back in, although I do wonder if the two are synonymous (can you forgive someone without letting them back in? I don’t know). As for the criminally inclined, I am lucky in that I have had no experience with them. I have a feeling that I would do as you do and forgive them, but keep them away from my family and loved ones for protections sake.
      Thanks again for the comment Lisa. Look forward to hearing from you soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

