Sadness, and the ability of Gods word to remove sadness and uplift.

Most days I feel contented, when I can pray and glorify the Lord without the burden of a heavy heart. Some days I feel depressed, and I think that I am not good enough and my heart feels like it is made of lead.

It is on those leaden hearted days that I turn to my Bible for words of solace, words that will help me pray for the strength to get through to the next contented day and to keep the devil at bay. It does not disappoint:

Psalms 34:18

The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart,
And saves such as have a contrite spirit.

Psalms 55:22

Cast your burden on the Lord,
And He shall sustain you;
He shall never permit the righteous to be moved.

1 Peter 5: 6-7

Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time,  casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

At the end of the day, these days of sadness are a test of faith, a test to see if you trust God enough to make things better, to help you through it and to make you a more blessed person as a result. As it is written:

Psalm 18:2

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;
My God, my strength, in whom I will trust;
My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold

and He will always be, through the bleakest of days as well as the most blessed of them.

Sadness, and the ability of Gods word to remove sadness and uplift.

6 thoughts on “Sadness, and the ability of Gods word to remove sadness and uplift.

  1. Reblogged this on My Spiritual Journey and commented:
    Today’s blog from my Husband-to-Be touches on something that I can really identify with. I have suffered from depression for over 10 years, whilst some dark things have happened in my life, nothing really triggered it. It has been a really difficult journey for me and I have tried to commit suicide on several occasions as well as using self-harm to try to gain some control over my spiraling feelings of despair.

    Since I started attending my current church, I have had some days where I haven’t felt so happy but the Lord has put such a joy into my heart that it feels as though depression is just a dark memory. My faith has been renewed with such incredible intensity and I can feel God moving throughout every part of my life. Sometimes that Devil will try to tease me by saying that I am being ridiculous, God can’t have suddenly made me all better after of the pain that I have suffered well, the suffering I felt was not of God, the suffering that I felt was on the Devil and on me. The Devil wanted me to hurt, the Devil wanted me to take my life, the Devil wanted to steal away one of God’s children but I say “No!”

    Philippians 4:6 (NLT) says “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need and thank him for all he has done.”

    Now that I have my faith again, all of the pain of the past is gone and if I ever do worry, I know that I can simply place it into God’s hands. God’s got my back and will always be with me.

    Have a wonderfully blessed day.

    Like

  2. I love how real you are, manofgod. I hadn’t thought of the two being linked, but trusting God does go with the bad days. Can I trust Him even then? The answer is yes. Like King David, however I feel I will trust in Him. Keep writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

